Home growing rules,
state by state.
Compare who may grow, plant limits and restrictions across all 50 states and Washington, DC.
Adult-use and medical rules differ. Plant limits may depend on maturity, household size, patient status and local rules. Check each state's sources and notes before acting on a summary.
Explore the state mapCompare home-growing rules
Each state shows when its sources were checked and what still needs checking.
51 states and districts shown.
No matching state. Change your search or filter.
| State and eligibility | Plant limits | Restrictions | Sources and notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| AlabamaHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
The patient program does not authorize personal cultivation. Licensed cultivators and processors supply the medical system; a patient card is not a grow license. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| AlaskaAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: 6 plants per adult; no more than 3 mature and flowering. Medical: Registered medical patient or caregiver: up to 6 plants, no more than 3 mature and flowering. Household: 12 plants per dwelling; no more than 6 mature and flowering. |
Adults 21+; personal use at the dwelling. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: Medical registry protection follows Alaska AS 17.37; the medical count is not an extra six plants above the adult dwelling ceiling. |
| ArizonaAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: 6 plants per adult 21+ at a primary residence. Medical: A qualifying patient whose registry card authorizes cultivation may grow 12 plants in an enclosed, locked facility. Household: 12 adult-use plants at a residence with two or more adults. Medical plant counts depend on card authorization. |
Adult plants must be locked and out of public view. Medical cultivation authorization is conditional. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3 What to check: Medical card conditions, including dispensary-distance eligibility, should be checked for the individual patient. |
| ArkansasHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
Registered patients and caregivers may not cultivate medical marijuana. The Department of Health says protected products must be purchased through Arkansas licensed dispensaries. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| CaliforniaAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: 6 living plants per residence for adults 21+. Medical: A physician recommendation can support more than 6 medicinal plants; no single statewide medical plant number is stated by the agency. Household: 6 adult-use plants per residence; physician-recommended medical amount may differ. |
Keep adult-use plants in a locked space out of public view; local rules can be stricter. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: Do not treat six plants as a universal medical cap. |
| ColoradoAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: 6 plants per adult 21+; no more than 3 mature, flowering plants. Medical: Ordinarily 6 plants per patient, no more than 3 mature, flowering; a medically justified extended plant count can differ, subject to residential and local limits. Household: Generally 12 plants total on a residential property, regardless of occupants or whether plants are medical or adult-use. The reviewed current residential statute does not set a separate six-mature household cap. A medical patient or caregiver may reach 24 at a residence only under the stated local-law, registration and notice conditions; local law can set other limits. |
Cultivation must be enclosed and locked; patient and caregiver grows must comply with local law. A medical recommendation alone does not override the residential ceiling. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, Source 4 What to check: 2026 C.R.S. 18-18-406(3)(a)(II)(A) gives the 12-plant residential ceiling; 25-1.5-106(8.5)(a.5) and (8.6)(a)(I.5) specify conditional medical 24-plant exceptions. The ordinary six/three medical count is supported by the General Assembly medical law summary. Do not add adult and medical allowances or infer a universal six-mature residence ceiling. |
| ConnecticutAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: 3 mature plus 3 immature plants per adult 21+. Medical: Qualifying medical patient aged 18+: 3 mature and 3 immature plants at the primary residence. Household: 12 plants per household in total. |
Grow indoors, out of public view, with under-21 access restricted. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, Source 4 What to check: Medical patients and adults 21+ have the same plant count; the 12-plant household cap applies to both. |
| DelawareHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
Delaware's adult-use law does not allow home cultivation. The medical program also does not grant patients or caregivers a general right to grow at home. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| District of ColumbiaAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: An adult aged 21 or older may grow up to 6 plants, no more than 3 mature and flowering, inside the person's principal residence. Medical: No separate medical-patient home-grow allowance is stated in the cited DC personal-cultivation provision; medical business cultivation requires its own license. Household: At one house or rental unit, all residents together may have no more than 12 plants, with no more than 6 mature and flowering. |
Plants must be inside the principal residence. The personal right does not authorize sales, and a property owner or controller may regulate growing there. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: DC Code §48-904.01(a)(1)(C) states both the adult and aggregate home limits directly. Do not infer extra plants from patient registration; absence of a separate allowance in these cited provisions is not an express prohibition finding. |
| FloridaHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
Florida's medical marijuana authorization does not permit patients to grow cannabis at home. Licensed medical marijuana treatment centers cultivate, process and dispense within a regulated system. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| GeorgiaHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
Georgia patient registration is not permission to cultivate cannabis. The state uses licensed producers and dispensaries for medical supply. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| HawaiiMedical home growing only | Adult use: Not permitted. Medical: Up to 10 living plants, mature or immature combined, jointly for one registered qualifying patient and that patient's designated primary caregiver at the registered grow site. Household: The 10-plant cap is a joint patient-caregiver allowance, not 10 each. The reviewed statute and Department of Health grow guidance do not establish one universal household ceiling for separate registered patients at one address; each grow site and patient relationship must be registered. |
The grow site must be listed on the Hawaii 329 card and be the patient or caregiver residence or another site owned or controlled by either. Plants require patient identification tags. A temporary out-of-state patient registration does not authorize cultivation. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3 What to check: HRS 329-121 defines adequate supply jointly for patient and caregiver and excludes live plants from out-of-state patient adequate supply. DOH says the location must appear on the card. No general household multiplier is asserted. |
| IdahoHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
There is no adult-use or medical patient home-grow allowance. Planting even a small number of marijuana plants can trigger controlled-substance law; a private indoor space or personal therapeutic purpose is not a license. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| IllinoisMedical home growing only | Adult use: Not permitted for ordinary adult-use consumers. Medical: 5 plants for a registered medical patient aged 21+ under the state cultivation rule. Household: 5 plants per household under the patient home-grow provision. |
Plants must be in an enclosed, locked space and inaccessible to unauthorized people. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: Adult-use legalization alone does not authorize cultivation. |
| IndianaHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
Indiana does not provide an adult or medical home-growing allowance for marijuana. Growing one or several plants is not made lawful by keeping them inside a private home or asserting personal medical use. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| IowaHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
The Iowa patient card does not allow home cultivation of marijuana. Licensed manufacturers produce regulated medical products for licensed dispensaries; the patient and caregiver roles do not include growing plants. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| KansasHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
There is no Kansas adult-use or medical patient allowance to grow marijuana plants at home. A proposed medical cultivation license in an unpassed bill does not apply to private residents or businesses. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| KentuckyHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
Kentucky's patient and caregiver registrations do not allow growing cannabis at home. Cultivation is reserved for licensed medical cannabis businesses. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| LouisianaHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
R.S. 40:966 generally prohibits marijuana production; its medical patient exemption concerns possession, while production protection is limited to licensed facilities and researchers. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| MaineAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: 6 mature plants, 12 immature plants and unlimited seedlings per adult 21+ for personal adult use. Medical: A qualifying patient may cultivate, or designate an eligible caregiver to cultivate, a total of 6 mature plants, 12 immature plants and unlimited seedlings for that patient. Household: No single statewide adult-use household plant number: Title 28-B §1502 sets the allowance per adult grower. Multiple qualifying patients in one household may each use the separate medical patient allowance but may share no more than two cultivation areas; caregiver and parcel rules also apply. |
Adult plants may not be visible from a public way without optical aid; take reasonable precautions against access by under-21s and label mature and immature plants. Local mature-plant parcel limits must still allow the statutory per-domiciled-adult amount. The adult and medical systems are distinct; do not assume their limits stack for one person. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: Directly read current Title 28-B §1502(1)-(4) and Title 22 §2423-A(1)(B), including the two cultivation-area condition. The statutes provide per-person or per-patient counts, not a universal household maximum. |
| MarylandAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: 2 plants for an adult 21+ at the home. Medical: A registered medical patient may grow 2 additional plants. Household: 2 adult-use plants per residence; up to 4 if the additional medical allowance applies. |
Plants must be out of public view and kept in a secure location. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: The medical addition is a residence-level exception, not two more plants for every patient. |
| MassachusettsAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: 6 plants per adult 21+. Medical: Registered qualifying patient: up to 12 flowering and 12 vegetative plants, excluding clones and cuttings. Household: Adult use: 12 plants where two or more adults live. Medical: 12 flowering and 12 vegetative plants at one residence under 935 CMR 501.140. |
Adult plants must be locked and not visible from a public place; medical cultivation follows patient registration rules. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3 What to check: Current Commission guidance says its hardship cultivation registration is not yet implemented; do not assume an application route to exceed the ordinary medical count. |
| MichiganAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: 12 plants at the adult grower’s residence. Medical: A registered qualifying patient may cultivate 12 plants for personal medical use if the patient, rather than a caregiver, is designated to possess the plants. Household: Adult-use ceiling is 12 plants on the premises, not 12 for each adult. Medical caregiver arrangements have distinct rules. |
Plants must not be visible from public view and must meet locked/enclosed security requirements. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3 What to check: Medical caregiver counts are outside this home-resident comparison. |
| MinnesotaAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: 8 plants total, no more than 4 mature and flowering, at one primary residence. Medical: A registered designated caregiver may grow up to 8 plants, no more than 4 mature and flowering, for one patient household after the patient assigns the cultivation right. Household: 8 plants, no more than 4 mature and flowering, at one adult primary residence. A designated caregiver may additionally grow 8 for one patient household at the caregiver residence, with no more than 8 mature and flowering of 16 total. |
Cultivation area must be enclosed, locked, and out of public view. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3 What to check: Caregiver medical cultivation requires assignment of the patient’s right; a patient who assigns it cannot also grow those plants. |
| MississippiHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
Home grow changed from unverified to prohibited. Directly opened current clean June 2026 MMCP regulations, rule 4.4.1: https://www.mmcp.ms.gov/sites/default/files/2026/June%202026/MMCP%20Regs%20(June%202026).pdf . Explicit prohibition. Earlier uncertainty is superseded. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, Source 4 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| MissouriAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: With a consumer cultivation card: 6 flowering, 6 nonflowering at least 14 inches, and 6 nonflowering under 14 inches. Medical: With patient cultivation authorization: 6 flowering, 6 nonflowering at least 14 inches, and 6 nonflowering under 14 inches per patient. Household: Consumer residence: 12 flowering, 12 larger nonflowering and 12 smaller nonflowering plants. Two authorized patients sharing a locked facility have the same category totals. A caregiver serving multiple patients has a separate 24/24/24 ceiling. |
A valid cultivation card and an enclosed, locked facility are required; consumer grows occur at a private residence. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, Source 4 What to check: Cultivation authorization is required. A patient receives only one plant allowance through themselves or their caregiver; consumer and caregiver plants cannot share the same facility. |
| MontanaAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: 2 mature plants and 2 seedlings for a Montana resident adult 21+. Medical: 4 mature plants and 4 seedlings for a Montana registered cardholder. Household: When multiple adult consumers share one residence: at most 4 mature plants and 4 seedlings. When multiple registered cardholders share one residence: at most 8 mature plants and 8 seedlings. These are residence ceilings, not an unlimited per-person multiplier; the mixed adult/cardholder case needs individual checking. |
Grow only at a private residence owned by the grower or with written owner permission; keep plants and excess product in a locked space and out of public view. Visitors are not eligible for adult personal cultivation. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3 What to check: DOR Know Before You Grow expressly states the twice-individual residence rule for multiple adult consumers and multiple registered cardholders. Mixed-status household interpretation is not given there; do not add the two categorical ceilings. |
| NebraskaHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
Home grow changed from unverified to prohibited. Directly read sections 28-401(15),(22), 28-416(1) and 71-24,105. Reading these provisions together, cultivation is manufacture and the patient exception is limited to use, possession and acquisition. This is a statutory synthesis, not a quotation from a home-grow FAQ. Commercial licensing remains separate. Earlier uncertainty is superseded. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, Source 4, Source 5 What to check: Statutory synthesis: cultivation is treated as manufacture, while medical patient protection concerns use, possession and acquisition. No express patient home-grow permission found. |
| NevadaAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: 6 plants per adult 21+ only when no licensed adult-use retailer is within 25 miles of the residence. Medical: A medical cardholder who meets one of the NRS 678C.200 exceptions may grow up to 12 plants, mature or immature combined. Household: 12 adult-use plants per residence. Medical caregivers/patients collectively may not exceed 12 plants under the cited medical protection. |
Adult grow must be enclosed, locked, hidden from public view, and on property possessed by the grower or used with permission. Medical exceptions include legacy growers, unavailable supply, inability to travel, or no dispensary within 25 miles on first card application. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, Source 4 What to check: Medical exceptions are separate from the adult-use 25-mile retailer condition. |
| New HampshireHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
RSA 126-X expressly excludes cultivation by patients, caregivers and visiting patients from its protected therapeutic-use definition. This means the card does not authorize home growing. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, Source 4 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| New JerseyHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
The Cannabis Regulatory Commission states that current law does not authorize it to permit or regulate medicinal home cultivation. The reviewed adult-use guide also provides no personal cultivation right. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| New MexicoAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: At a private residence, up to 12 total plants per adult 21+, no more than 6 mature, flowering plants. Medical: No current separate medical home-grow count verified. A registered patient aged 21+ can use the adult personal-cultivation rule; do not rely on the former four-mature/12-seedling personal production license allowance. Household: No more than 12 mature plants at a household with multiple adults; each adult remains limited to 12 plants total and 6 mature. The current RLD personal-use page does not state one numerical household limit for all immature plants. |
No special personal production license is required for the age-21+ adult grow. New Mexico DOH stated that prior personal production licenses became invalid on June 29, 2021. The current cultivation route for a patient younger than 21 was not established from the reviewed official sources. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3 What to check: Current RLD personal-use page supplies the adult and mature-household counts. The official April 2021 DOH transition letter expressly invalidates all personal production licenses; still-posted older NMAC 7.34.4.8/.21 text and portal PPL language conflict with it and are not treated as current authority. Under-21 medical cultivation needs regulator clarification. |
| New YorkAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: 3 mature and 3 immature plants per adult 21+. Medical: A certified patient may grow 3 mature and 3 immature plants; designated caregivers may grow for eligible patients under separate rules. Household: 6 mature and 6 immature plants per residence. |
Grow at a private residence under OCM security and access rules. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3 What to check: Medical and adult-use counts share a 6 mature plus 6 immature residence cap; caregiver eligibility and patient assignment matter. |
| North CarolinaHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
State controlled-substance law provides no ordinary personal marijuana cultivation route. Industrial hemp has a separate framework. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, Source 4 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| North DakotaHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
HHS explicitly says a medical card authorizes purchase and possession only of products from one of the eight registered in-state dispensaries. Homegrown product therefore lacks patient protection. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| OhioAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: 6 plants per adult-use consumer aged 21 or older at the person's primary residence. Medical: No separate medical-patient home-grow entitlement is stated in the cited Ohio provisions; a patient aged 21 or older may use the adult-use allowance as an adult-use consumer. Household: 12 homegrown plants maximum at a single residence, regardless of how many eligible adults live there. |
Grow only in a secured enclosed area inaccessible to under-21s and out of normal public view. The statute excludes certain child-care and transitional facilities and rentals with agreements prohibiting cultivation. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: Current §3796.04 effective March 20, 2026 sets both counts for adult-use consumers; §3796.01 defines homegrown separately from medical marijuana. Do not add a medical allotment to the 12-residence ceiling. |
| OklahomaMedical home growing only | Adult use: Not permitted without a medical patient license. Medical: A licensed patient may possess 6 mature plants and 6 seedlings, plus the harvest from those plants. Household: The cited OMMA patient rule gives a per-license allowance; it does not state one universal residence-wide plant cap. Do not multiply it by residents without checking each authorization and site conditions. |
Patient-grown plants must be on property the patient owns or has written owner permission to use; plants cannot be visible from an adjacent street. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: OMMA explicitly states six mature and six seedlings per licensed patient. Caregiver status can assist a patient but is not evidence of an additional personal plant allowance. No universal household aggregate was found in these sources. |
| OregonAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: 4 plants per household for adults 21+. Medical: Patient growing at their own registered residence: up to 6 mature and 12 immature plants, regardless of immature plant height. Household: Adult use: 4 plants per household. At a patient residence: at most 12 mature and 24 immature medical plants across all residents. Four recreational plants are allowed only if another person also lives there, and count within these totals. |
Medical plants must be at a registered grow site; site zoning and the number of patients affect aggregate limits. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3 What to check: These medical counts apply at the patient residence. A designated grower at another address has different zoning and plant-height categories; consult the OHA plant-limit guidance. |
| PennsylvaniaHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
Patient registration does not authorize a home grow. Pennsylvania's Department of Agriculture explains that medical cannabis is grown through permitted grower-processors or specially permitted hemp growers under the medical law. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, Source 4, Source 5 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| Rhode IslandAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: 3 mature and 3 immature plants per dwelling unit for adult personal use. Medical: A registered patient with a Commission medical home-grow certificate may receive up to 12 plant sets (12 mature and 12 immature); an authorized caregiver for multiple patients may receive up to 24 sets. Household: Adult-only grow: 3 mature and 3 immature per dwelling. A medical home-grow location may hold no more than 24 plant sets (24 mature and 24 immature) total, inclusive of adult-use sets, regardless of resident or grower count. |
Medical growers must register one location and obtain a home-grow certificate before cultivation; plants belong in a secure indoor structure. Adult plants must be indoors, locked and screened from public view. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1 What to check: Active 560-RICR-10-15-1 §§1.4(E)(1)-(4), 1.6(B)-(C) supplies an explicit medical-location aggregate and includes adult-use sets in it. A medical grow is not automatically authorized by a patient card alone. |
| South CarolinaHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
The reviewed controlled-substances provisions do not authorize adults or patients to grow marijuana at home. Hemp production is regulated separately and requires compliance with its agricultural rules; a hemp license should not be treated as personal cannabis cultivation permission. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| South DakotaMedical home growing only | Adult use: Not permitted for general adult use. Medical: A cardholder whose registry card authorizes cultivation may have 2 flowering and 2 nonflowering plants. Household: No universal dwelling-wide numerical cap is stated in the cited statute and rules. Two authorized cardholders living in the same dwelling may share one enclosed, locked grow facility, subject to each card and caregiver-designation rules. |
Cultivation requires a separate application and authorization shown on the registry card; the grow must be enclosed and locked. Nonresident cardholders cannot cultivate. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: SDCL 34-20G-1(1)(c), (13), (19) and ARSD 44:90:02:07-08 were directly read. Shared facility is expressly allowed for resident cardholders, but no automatic household multiplier or unrestricted caregiver collective follows. |
| TennesseeHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
Tennessee's environmental and agriculture guidance says hemp may be grown under agriculture rules, while marijuana is not legal. Nothing in the reviewed sources allows an adult or medical patient to grow marijuana at home. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| TexasHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
Texas DPS explicitly says patients cannot grow their own cannabis. Only licensed dispensing organizations may cultivate plants for low-THC products under CUP. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| UtahHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
Utah patient guidance limits protected use to pharmacy-purchased product, while §76-18-208 prohibits unauthorized production of marijuana. No home-grow exception was established for a patient card. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| VermontAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: 2 mature and 4 immature plants per dwelling unit for adults aged 21 or older. Medical: A registered medical patient or registered caregiver on a patient's behalf may cultivate up to 6 mature and 12 immature plants under 7 V.S.A. §952(b)(1). Household: Adult-use plants are limited to 2 mature and 4 immature per dwelling regardless of adult residents. The cited medical statute provides a separate registered-person allowance; no universal medical dwelling aggregate is stated there. Do not add adult and medical allowances without checking the registrants and site. |
Adult-use plants must be on property lawfully possessed or used with written consent, screened from public view and kept from unauthorized access; medical privilege depends on registry status. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3 What to check: 18 V.S.A. §4230e(a)(2) is an express adult dwelling cap; 7 V.S.A. §952(b)(1) provides a distinct medical allowance. Current CCB FAQ corroborates the medical count. The reviewed provisions do not establish an across-program additive count. |
| VirginiaAdults, subject to conditions | Adult use: An adult aged 21 or older may grow up to 4 plants for personal use at the person's main residence. Medical: No additional medical-patient home-grow allowance is stated in the cited Virginia cultivation statute; an eligible patient aged 21 or older remains subject to the household limit when growing personally. Household: 4 plants maximum per household, regardless of the number of adults or patients living there. |
Plants must not be visible from a public way, must be secured against under-21 access, and each needs the cultivator's identifying tag. Property owners may restrict cultivation. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: §4.1-1101(A) expressly says no household may contain more than four plants. Medical status does not create an extra allowance in this cited section; that is a scope finding, not a claim of an express medical ban. |
| WashingtonMedical home growing only | Adult use: Not permitted for ordinary adult-use consumers. Medical: With medical authorization alone, an adult patient may grow 4 plants; with a recognition card, usually 6 and up to 15 if the practitioner authorizes more. Household: Generally no more than 15 medical plants per housing unit even with multiple patients or providers; registered cooperatives are a separate exception. |
Grow within the domicile or home/property away from public view; valid medical authorization required. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, Source 4, Source 5, Source 6, Source 7 What to check: Recognition-card and practitioner-recommended counts must be checked on the patient record. |
| West VirginiaHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
The Office of Medical Cannabis says growing medical cannabis without a grower or processor permit is unlawful. Patient card status does not grant home cultivation. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| WisconsinHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
Without an adult-use or medical marijuana cultivation authorization, a resident cannot infer a right to grow marijuana at home. The Department of Justice distinguishes regulated hemp by its THC content. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2, Source 3 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |
| WyomingHome growing prohibited | Adult use: Not permitted Medical: Not permitted Household: Not applicable |
Wyoming Statutes § 35-7-1040 makes knowingly planting, cultivating, harvesting, drying or processing marijuana an offense except where law otherwise permits. No patient or adult personal grow route was found in the reviewed law. | Sources checked: 2026-10-23 Source 1, Source 2 What to check: No personal adult-use or medical home-grow authorization identified in the cited official material. |